Notices

Old 02-12-2013, 10:59 AM   #1
wesbranscum
Buckeye Extremist

Favorite Buckeye: George,Hawk,Hyde,Simon, Boren, Griffin, Doss, Lauranitis,Bosa
Credits: 45,435
Thanked 1,142 Times in 842 Posts

Default your opinion

just wondering what you guys thought on this subject, im a high school coach and work at middle school with 7th and 8th graders, well in ohio now your 8th grade grades determine if you are eligible, and we have so many "teachers" here who treat these kids like college students

i mean i talked to one who wont give anymake up work at all and accept no late work, hes a band director and told me as a coach i should appreciate him weaving out the kids now, i think its wrong to think that way, so many kids change from 8th grade to the time they finish high school he writes them off too soon. What is even crazier is the teacher next to him lets kids turn in homework whenever,

so my big question is when do we start holding these kids responsible, to such as degree as when they fail they fail, some of these teachers dont even help these kids they just write them off asap.

i told him there needs to be a uniform homework rule then, becuase at the high school some teacher allow late work, the only ones who disagree with me are the teachers who also work with the band, of course they never have to put up with the kids sports coaches do,

are these kids setting themselves up for failure because in 8th grade they arnt fully mature or are the teachers?
Old 02-12-2013, 11:04 AM   #2
PHATBUCK13
Under The Influence

Favorite Buckeye: Ben Edwards, Billy Price, Joey Bosa, Curtis Samuel
Credits: 145,909,997
Thanked 6,159 Times in 4,564 Posts

8th grade is old enough to hold them accountable for their behaivor...

I think a rule that takes 20% off of any late homework would be an approach to take...

If the homework is worth 10 points, and dude scores a 8, take the addition 20% juice off and it's now a 6...